top of page
  • K Yaiying

Unseen Thailand Angthong


I am originally from Wisetchaichan subdistrict , Angthong province which takes 2-3 hours from Bangkok by driving. I used to hate my hometown so much that there is nothing to do. I remember when 7-Eleven opened and It was a big hit. Every people in my town went there just to get Slurpee and hot dogs. People had wait to get in line. It was also chaotic. I remember how we got the last traffic light in Thailand. I drove my motorcycle at a traffic light just to enjoy a stop at a red light. Now a day I barely go to 7 eleven or enjoy the traffic light at all. I was wrong if I would say there is nothing there. My hometown has Wat Muang in the middle of rice field. What special about this temple is Big Buddha sitting peacefully there as an important landmark which took 16 years to finish. He is the biggest Buddha status in the world and his name is Pha Put ta ma ha na wa min sak ka ya mu ni sri wi set chai chan. His name related in honor of late King Rama 9 or the great king Bhumibol Adulyadej.

View on the side

Jorge and I

Touching his finger and pray, asking for his blessing.

Wat Muang has glass chapel you should not miss. Interiors were made by glass, including the status of importance monk. You can pray and ask for blessing in front of the main Buddha as well. This chapel can be busy during the day.

The temple also including the park which has the imagination of Heaven, Hell, Thai history, Thai fables and angels in Buddhism. This picture is about the life after death if you were a bad person as a human. You will get punished in the hell.

You can take a van from Chatuchak about 2 hours. The price is about 3 us dollar or 90 bath Traveling in Wisetchaichan is quite hard without a car or motorcycle. Motorcycle taxi is easy to find.

Next spot you should visit is Wat Nang Nai which is not far away from Wat Muang. This temple has old holy Monk call Luang Por Num. He is a holy spirit for the local community. We believe that he is blessing people around Wisetchaichan and give us peace.

Status of Luang Por Num

Wat Nang Nai

Not far away from Wat Nang Nai, you can check 100 years local market Talad San jaw rong thong. They sell all street food, groceries, local shops and much more. I used to hate it so much because my grandma liked to ask me to do groceries for her.

My Brother and I were shopping there.

Another side of Wat Nang Nai is Wat NangNai School. It's my Kinder garden school. It was so small when I was a student there. Now 7 years later things changed in the better way. This place full of memories and friends. Good old days.

Selfie !

This is the main street I hated. I used to wait for the bus or crossing to market.

I am home.

I love it when it rains.

Relax on my balcony. Nothing fancy.

My back yard

My Neighbor fed me so well

Now today I realize that my hometown is full of memories and valuable. I always miss the layback, small-town feeling, smile, laugh, and kindness. The hate of my hometown faded away and instead of hate, the love and miss are now calling me to go home.

Where to stay

 

89 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
TRAVEL
bottom of page